My Paintings from Art School & The Next Goal, 5 Years Later

by laraleslieyoung

In art school, I went from being unable to draw or paint to being able to draw representationally – meaning that I could draw a person that looks like a person, etc.  Here are some of my art school paintings & sketches from 2005-2008:

Lara Young Ringling College of Art and Design

“The Yellow Turban”, painted from a model in class, now in a private collection

Lara Young Ringling College of Art and Design

“White Peacock, Like A Ghost”, part of a series of 12 paintings based on Lord Alfred Tennyson’s poem, “Now Sleeps the Crimson Petal”

"The Crimson Petal" from the Lord Alfred Tennyson poem, "Now Sleeps the Crimson Petal"

“The Crimson Petal” from the Lord Alfred Tennyson poem, “Now Sleeps the Crimson Petal”

Lara Young Ringling Illustration

I painted this just after art school in my backyard

Lara Young Ringling Illustration Painting

Emperor Penguin, sold at auction to benefit AWARE Wildlife Rescue

Lara Young Painting

A Lake at the Plantation in Eden

Lara Young Illustration Ringling Painting

Ballerina study in ink, now in a private collection

Lara Young Ringling College Illustration

Sketch of a Spanish Windmill

Lara Young Ringling College

Sketch for “Tango”

After art school, I burnt out terribly.  I couldn’t draw or paint at all anymore – all my energy was spent.  5 years later, I am just beginning to draw & paint again.

Now I want to move beyond just “drawing what I see”.  I want to tell real stories, try experimental new techniques, and do my part to move art forward.  As an entrepreneur, I also want to revolutionize the way art is displayed, sold, and bought.  Who says the “artwork to gallery” business model is the only way?

I’ll be posting new experimental artwork soon.