Goodwill Find of the Century: A Golden-Age Illustration by Charles Edward Chambers

by laraleslieyoung

The other day, my friend and I were out in the middle of nowhere, Georgia. We had to find a restroom, so we went into a Goodwill store. We decided to look around while we were there. My friend found a black-and-white illustration in a decaying frame that he assumed was a print. Since he thought it was a great image, he decided to buy it for $7.00. I loved it so much that he gave it to me.

After taking a closer look, I found that it was an original oil painting on board by the renowned Golden Age illustrator Charles Edward Chambers. He painted it in December of 1900. C. E. Chambers is now trending with collectors and is a Pinterest and blogging favorite. He goes down in history in the Society of Illustrators Hall of Fame in New York City.

I am sending this painting to a museum so that the public will have access to it. Museums that collect work like this include Society of Illustrators Museum of Illustration, the Art Institute in Chicago (where Chambers went to school), the University of Michigan Museum of Art and the Brandywine Conservancy & Museum of Art.C E Chambers, Charles Edward Chambers
C E Chambers Woman
C E Chambers Man
C E Chambers Signature
C E Chambers Board
C E Chambers Date

